Day 2: Which is your favourite race, and why?

  

Here we are again on the 20 Days of Warcraft challenge, from Ama via Erinys. I’m not doing them on consecutive days, since time does not allow, but so far they’re interesting – so I shall keep plodding along at my own speed!

This one is a difficult question. I can name a couple who aren’t my favourite races – dwarves, whose fondness for ale and Scottish accents amuses but doesn’t really charm me, and humans (I am already a human. Do I need to play a computer game just in order to be one again?). Most of the others, though, have their redeeming factors:

  • Undead: Although they gross me out completely, some of their quotes when clicked on (and the underlying racial outlook on life) are rather fun. My personal favourite is ‘Remember, patience. Discipline.’ – closely followed by ‘What would you ask of Death?’. I suppose you could call it a morbid fascination…
  • Gnomes: Undeniably cute, but certainly sometimes a bit irritating as well. I love them when they’re sneaking and their death animation is endlessly amusing, but their laughter causes me to consider ways of bringing about their death as a race.
  • Goblins: Haven’t tried them yet (obviously) so it’s difficult to say. I’m guessing probably not, though, as I don’t really go for the whole profiteering thing. Plus, their voices tend to get on my nerves. That said, they clearly do have a well-developed sense of fun!
  • Worgen: Likewise, haven’t tried them yet. I would say, though, that they would be in there with a very strong chance. British accents instead of the endless American voices (no offense, I’m half American myself!), plus the whole changing into a wolf thing – and I’m strongly in sympathy with their desire to live their own lives and shut the rest of the world out, even though I don’t think it was the right thing to do.
  • Tauren: Definitely the gentle giants of Azeroth. Their culture is quite beautiful – certainly the pick of the Horde – and I think could be developed a bit more than it has been. That said, somehow my mental image of a cow doesn’t include a great deal of intelligence, so I perhaps don’t like them as well as I might otherwise.
  • Draenei: I love their devotion to the Light and their selflessness. They’re fun to look at, too (even if the girls’ posture makes me cringe – their backs must get terribly sore!), and they aren’t afraid to get involved in helping out when someone needs it. On the other hand, they’re also hugely popular, and I’ve never been all that fond of following the crowd.
  • Trolls: The embodiment of ‘cool’. They are fun and funky, and would also kill you or anyone else given half a chance. I quite like playing them, but you can never trust them not to do something horribly barbaric at any moment, which irks me a bit.
  • Orcs: Rather a divided race. My feelings about the orcs vary depending on whether we’re discussing the ‘Thrall’ type or the ‘Garrosh’ type. The former would probably place them up with my favourite races, for their honour and bravery; the latter would take them out of the running entirely!
  • Night elves: My main is a night elf, so I’ve probably spent longer looking at them than any other race (though, granted, she also is a cat most of the time. But an elven cat!). I like their connection with nature, but their arrogance and isolationism rather annoys me; I know, I said I sympathised with worgen for almost the same thing, but consistency is for the weak.
  • Blood elves: The ‘pretty’ race. Having pretty characters is fun, I can’t deny that (and I don’t play male characters, so I’m talking about the girls here). That said, as a race they really aren’t that pleasant, and no one could really describe them as team players.  But they are fun to dress up!

 

After all of that, with a short list of worgen, orcs and draenei, I think the eventual winner is the worgen. The orcs lose out due to the Garrosh factor, in the end – and even the draenei can’t quite compete with the turning-into-a-wolf bonus points the worgen get. Of course, I might change my mind after I play one – but I hope not, since the idea is that my new main will be Gilnean born and bred!

