Sometimes things just happen, without our apparent participation. Such is the tale I tell today…

I’ve been thinking for a while about leaving Dhakeilh’s guild. Not that they aren’t nice enough people, but the time zones aren’t a particularly good match, and even when they’re on, for some reason they seem to have difficulty hearing anything I say – because they never, never answer. This has got to the point where I almost wonder whether my gchat channel is even working! As I said, not unpleasant people – but also not a very social environment, and since I can’t raid easily on that server due to time zone issues, I’m really looking for a nice friendly guild.

On the other hand, they have put up with me as I leveled to 80, and it seemed a little cheeky to ding 80 and immediately say ‘Bye! Looking for someone I like better.’ So I dithered, and mumbled, and complained to other friends, and finally started looking around for a social guild to join. My efforts were somewhat complicated, however, by my criteria: the members must behave in a reasonably mature fashion, must at least attempt to speak English and not l33t, and must enjoy doing things together. You wouldn’t think it would be all that hard to find, but somehow, one or other of those criteria has been missing from all the ones I’d so far looked into – and with Cataclysm around the corner, I want my efforts to go into leveling a guild I actually like.

Then, as it is wont to do, serendipity came along. I had temporarily given up the quests both  for a new guild and for Sons of Hodir reputation and had gone off to mess around on a level 10 priest – and got recruited into a leveling guild. Not only did the recruiter appear to have a basic command of the English language (though it isn’t his first), he also showed distinct signs of intelligence – and he wasn’t the only guild member logged in at the time, although it was the morning. What can I lose, I thought – it’s only a level 10, I can always leave if I don’t like them. So I signed up, got a few levels, chatted to them on teamspeak and was reasonably content with life.

Then, the next morning, I logged onto Dhakeilh and found a letter from my old GM. Apparently the guild had quietly disbanded itself overnight, and since I had been a ‘long term and loyal’ member, he’d done me the courtesy of writing to tell me. Timing, as they say, is everything; rather than floundering, I simply wrote him a ‘thanks and good luck’ note, and got Dhakeilh into this new guild with my little priest. They were thankful to have another 80, and I am interested to experience WoW with other people, instead of just with other people talking in their little groups, so it appears to be a win/win situation so far. They seem to like voice chatting whenever more than one person is on, which tends to make me retreat into my shell a bit, but it is nice to have found a group that not only talks to one another but (*gasp*) plays WoW with one another!

So! We shall see if this works out. The jury is still out, no doubt on both sides, but as all I’m looking for is a group of people to hang around with and maybe do some casual grouping with, I’m hoping it’ll be a good fit. If not, well, I suppose it’s back to the drawing board…

