Getting your first 80 has to be a pretty momentous thing. At least, for me, I have to say I’m excited about it – even though pretty soon 80 will no longer be the level cap and Dhakeilh will once again be a candidate for leveling!  I even had the way I’d finally get there planned out, and I’m happy to say that a plan for once went exactly as intended.

At heart, I am basically someone who enjoys traditions and routines, so it made sense to go back to the first ‘grown up’ quest I ever did in WoW. It was not, of course, on my account; a friend in the US who I was visiting was attempting to convert me and, knowing me well, took his character to Dragonblight. Needless to say, I was abysmally bad at the quest, which was the one involving fighting the Azure Dragonflight at the temple, and I have a nasty feeling I may have created something of a repair bill for him – but the experience of flying a-dragonback, exactly as he planned, created a memory that stuck. I put off starting to play on my own for about a year after that, but the dragons can take the credit for putting out the initial bait – and so I went back to them as the very last quest to get me over the line to 80.

In a way, it was a little anticlimactic – no fanfare, just the completion of another daily quest. It is, however, quite satisfying in a quiet sort of way – and this even though I realise that this is only the very beginning of Dhakeilh’s adventures. As a matter of fact, I’m currently working on Valiance Expedition reputation, so there will be no resting on laurels around here. Also, I need to go through and make a list of the gear I need from the normal dungeons, and begin the (from all I hear) endless cycle of replacing existing equipment with better. Fortunately, being a jewelcrafter, one aspect of that at least will be cheaper and easier.

A million things to do notwithstanding, though, reaching 80 is still a milestone – and I intend to enjoy it. I also expect to have nearly as much fun picking out a new character to level…but that’s a story for another time!

